Incumbent in the 37th Ward easily wins re-election, while 29th Ward race may need to be determined in April runoff

Ald. Emma Mitts is headed to another four-year term on the Chicago City Council, while Ald. Chris Taliaferro may still face a runoff, depending on the mail-in ballots still coming in and being processed. Voters also elected three members to both the 15th and 25th Police District Councils. And Austin resident Brandon Johnson appeared headed to a runoff in the mayoral election against former CPS CEO Paul Vallas.

Election Day has arrived

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 28. Voters will be selecting members of the Chicago City Council and the new Police District Councils as well as mayor.