Chicago election officials approve April 4 results

The Chicago Board of Election Commissioners officially declared Ald. Chris Taliaferro the winner in the 29th Ward after a close runoff with CB Johnson. Members of the new 15th and 25th Police District Councils will officially begin their roles on Tuesday.

Ald. Taliaferro declares victory

More than a week after the April 4th election, the two-term alderman thanked supporters and said he’s excited about representing the West Side ward, which counts Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson as a resident.

Race too close to call in the 29th Ward

Ald. Chris Taliaferro held a slight lead Tuesday night over challenger CB Johnson, with less than 100 votes separating the two candidates and more than 1,600 mail-in ballots yet to be counted.

Ald. Taliaferro appears to have avoided a runoff in 29th Ward

As of March 6, Taliaferro had received 4,853 votes in the Feb. 28th election – or 50.37% of the votes cast, while challenger CB Johnson had received 3,881 votes – or 40.28% of the vote. In the 15th Police District Council race, a handful of votes separate three candidates vying for the last seat on that new body.