Election Day is here

By |

Voters will be choosing Chicago’s next mayor today and a new treasurer, too.

On May 20th, formal federal prosecutor Lori Lightfoot or Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle will be sworn in as the next mayor, replacing Rahm Emanuel.

State Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin and Ald. Ameya Pawar are facing off to be the next treasurer, succeeding Kurt Summers.

The Chicago Tribune reported that as of Monday night, a total of more than 121,000 votes had been cast since March 15 when early voting began. More than 16,000 people had voted early Monday by just before 6 p.m., which was the most early voters on a single day since March 15, according to the Chicago Board of Election Commissioners.

Preckwinkle’s schedule for Tuesday was to include an afternoon stop at Sayre Elementary Language Academy, where she planned to greet voters along with 29th Ward Ald. Chris Taliaferro and Cook County Commissioner Brandon Johnson.

To find your polling place, click here. Polls will be open until 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply