Feb. 22 ballot becoming more clear

By |

The races for 28th and 29th Ward aldermen are whittling down as candidates have either withdrawn or been tossed off the ballot, according to records filed at the Chicago Board of Election Commissioners.

As Thursday’s deadline approaches for certifying the Feb. 22nd ballot, several candidacies still remain in doubt, while others have been settled.

Velda Brunner and Shawn Walker withdrew their candidacies in the 28th Ward. James Ogden was removed from the ballot because he failed to appear at a hearing when his nominating papers were being challenged. Appearance at objection hearings is mandatory.

Of the 10 people who declared their candidacies in the 28th, only William Siegmund was unchallenged. Decisions are still pending against: David J. Young, Michael A. (Mike) Stinson, Carol G. Johnson, Jason C. Ervin, Erick Von Kondrat and Carmeilta P. Earls.

Earls, Ervin, Johnson, Siegmund and Stinson also have applied to finish the term of 28th Ward Ald. Ed Smith, who retired at the end of the November. While not a candidate in February, Kathy Adams also applied to finish Smith’s term, which expires in mid-May.

In the 29th Ward, Bernard Cobbins Jr. failed to appear at his hearing, so his name was taken off the ballot. Curtis Myles was removed from the ballot because nominating papers failed to identify the office he was seeking.

Awaiting decisions from the election commission on their candidacies are: Sheneather “Shey” Butler, Eugene Greer, Marshall E. Hatch Sr. and Oddis “O.J” Johnson.

If they remain on the ballot, they will join a long list of people who are vying to replace incumbent Ald. Deborah L. Graham, who’s also running: C. B. Johnson, Thomas E. Simmons, Mary Russell Gardner, Jill R. Bush, Roman Morrow and Beverly D. Rogers. Objections filed against Rogers were withdrawn. Thirteen in all declared their candidacies in the 29th Ward.


Leave a Reply